Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Island of a thousand mirrors / Nayomi Munaweera.

By: Munaweera, Nayomi [author.].
Publisher: Colombo : Perera Hussein Pub. House, 2012Edition: 1st ed.Description: 227 p. ; 20 cm.ISBN: 9789558897249 (pbk.); 9558897248 (pbk.); 9780670077793 (paperback).Subject(s): Families -- Fiction | Family -- Fiction. -- Print | Sri Lanka -- FictionDDC classification: 823.92 Summary: Island of a Thousand Mirrors follows the fate of two families, one Tamil, one Sinhala as they straddle opposite sides of the long and brutal Sri Lankan civil war. Narrated by the eldest daughter of each family, the story explores how each woman negotiates war, migration, love, exile, and belonging. At its root, it s a story of a fragmented nation struggling to find its way to a new beginning.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Hāwera LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction MUNA (Browse shelf) Available i2137008
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara's and her siblings' lives are shaped by social hierarchies, their parents' ambitions, teenage love and, subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace is shattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodhara's family escapes to Los Angeles. But Yasodhara's life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girl's... <br>Saraswathie is living in the active war zone of Sri Lanka, and hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptly stamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled into the very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoid - a conflict that, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways. <br>In the tradition of "Anil's Ghost" and "The God of Small Things," Nayomi Munaweera's "Island of a Thousand Mirrors "is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettably authentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, it offers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficult moment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things to come.

Island of a Thousand Mirrors follows the fate of two families, one Tamil, one Sinhala as they straddle opposite sides of the long and brutal Sri Lankan civil war. Narrated by the eldest daughter of each family, the story explores how each woman negotiates war, migration, love, exile, and belonging. At its root, it s a story of a fragmented nation struggling to find its way to a new beginning.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Originally published in Sri Lanka in 2012, debut novelist Munaweera's story of families, caste, culture, and war in that country won the Commonwealth Book Prize for the Asian Region the following year. In Part 1, a distinguished Sinhalese family on hard times reluctantly rents the upper floor of their home to a Tamil family. When Yasodhara is born to Visaka on the same day that Shiva is born to the wife of Visaka's ex-lover, living upstairs, the story shifts focus to Yasodhara's bond with her male "twin," Shiva, and her younger sister, Lanka. The three children are inseparable until Yasodhara's family moves to Los Angeles to escape the war. Part 2 picks up with the story of Saraswathi, a girl with a promising future still living in Sri Lanka during the civil unrest in the 1980s; eventually, Sarawathi becomes an elite soldier for the Tamil Tigers. At this point, the lives of the adult Yasodhara, Lanka, Shiva, and Saraswathi tragically collide. VERDICT Munaweera's storytelling and lyrical writing easily pull readers into the world of her characters (all strongly drawn, especially the females), and the book as a whole is an eye-opening look at lives and cultures intersecting during a turbulent and disturbing historical period of civil unrest. [See Prepub Alert, 3/17/14.]-Shirley Quan, Orange Cty. P.L., Santa Ana, CA (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us