Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Justice for the damned / Ben Cheetham.

By: Cheetham, Ben [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Cheetham, Ben, Missing one: book 2.Description: 423 pages ; 20 cm.ISBN: 9781784970420; 1784970425 .Subject(s): Murder -- Investigation -- England -- Fiction | Prostitutes -- Crimes against -- England -- Fiction | Serial murderers -- England -- Fiction | Sheffield (England) -- FictionGenre/Form: Suspense fiction.DDC classification: 823.9/2 Summary: Thirty years of fear. Thirty years of closed minds. It is all about to change. A Sheffield prostitute has disappeared. With no family to fight for her, she's just the latest in a long line of missing girls stretching back three decades. Nobody cares about their names. Nobody remembers their faces. They are the unloved, the damaged, the forgotten, the damned...Amongst the women working South Yorkshire's streets, rumours of a serial killer have long circulated. But the police's top brass don't want to know about it. Talk of serial killers panics the public and embarrasses the department...But two very different detectives, each driven by their own dangerous obsessions, are being drawn into a murky world of perversion, murder and corruption that stretches from the streets to the corridors of power.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Suspense Eltham LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction CHEE (Browse shelf) Available (Available) i2143970
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> She woke up to the realisation that she was lying in an awkward heap on the mattress. Her eyes roamed the room like those of a lost little child. Where am I? she wondered. How did I get here? Then the masked figure loomed into view and she remembered and all the fear came rushing back. </p> <p> 'That's it,' said her captor, his voice tauntingly soft. 'Breathe, breathe.' </p> <p> There were no dead young women. </p> <p> There was no serial killer. </p> <p> Or at least that's what they said. </p> <p>A Sheffield prostitute has disappeared. With no family to fight for her, she's just the latest in a long line of missing girls stretching back three decades. Nobody cares about their names. Nobody remembers their faces. They are the unloved, the damaged, the forgotten, the damned...</p> <p>Rumours of a serial killer have long circulated. But the police's top brass don't want to know about it. Talk of serial killers panics the public and embarrasses the department...</p> <p>DI Reece Geary and DI Jim Monahan are two very different detectives, each driven by their own dangerous obsessions: Geary, in love with a prostitute, will to anything to get her off the streets, while Monahan is on the trail of a psychopath hiding behind a facade of respectability. Both will be drawn into a murky world of perversion, murder and corruption that reaches much deeper than either man could have imagined...</p> <p> From the bestselling author of Blood Guilt , Angel of Death , Spider's Web and The Lost Ones comes an addictive serial killer thriller that will have you wondering how far you would go to see justice done. Perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, Angela Marsons and Robert Bryndza. </p> <p> What people are saying about Justice For The Damned : </p> <p>' A raw, disturbing and utterly compelling story ... the pace doesn't let up until the final pages ... you may want to sleep with the lights on after reading' CrimeSquad .</p> <p>' A gritty tale of troubled relationships ... There's some great black comedy ... The ending is, in keeping with the rest of the book, brutal' Crime Thriller Hound .</p> <p>' Wow!!! A brilliant book that pulls no punches ... If you like crime books, then this is a must read' Goodreads reviewer, 5 Stars.</p>

Thirty years of fear. Thirty years of closed minds. It is all about to change. A Sheffield prostitute has disappeared. With no family to fight for her, she's just the latest in a long line of missing girls stretching back three decades. Nobody cares about their names. Nobody remembers their faces. They are the unloved, the damaged, the forgotten, the damned...Amongst the women working South Yorkshire's streets, rumours of a serial killer have long circulated. But the police's top brass don't want to know about it. Talk of serial killers panics the public and embarrasses the department...But two very different detectives, each driven by their own dangerous obsessions, are being drawn into a murky world of perversion, murder and corruption that stretches from the streets to the corridors of power.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us