Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Inheriting Edith / Zoe Fishman.

By: Fishman, Zoe [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookEdition: First edition.Description: 290, 15 pages ; 21 cm.ISBN: 9780062378743; 0062378740; 9780062378750 ; 9780062571519.Subject(s): Single mothers -- Fiction | Female friendship -- Fiction | Self-realization in women -- Fiction | Self-actualization (Psychology) in women -- FictionGenre/Form: Domestic fiction.DDC classification: 813/.6 Summary: "From the author of Driving Lessons, Saving Ruth, and Balancing Acts comes a poignant breakout novel about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat--she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it. Maggie Sheets is just trying to get by. A single mother, she works as a house cleaner and dreams of the days when her financial woes will be over. When her former employer, Liza, a renowned author Maggie once considered a friend, takes her own life, Maggie learns that she has been included in the will and now owns a beautiful home in Sag Harbor. But there's a catch: Maggie's also inherited Liza's eighty-two year old mother. Edith has always prided herself on her independence, but a recent Alzheimer's diagnosis has her wary about the future. She's left on her own to pick up the pieces of her daughter's death until Maggie, with her toddler in tow, arrives at her house, guarded but determined to make their unlikely situation work. Edith is angry and uninterested, until she suffers a fall and must rely on Maggie. Together they begin to heal the hurt left in Liza's wake, and when Maggie offers to transcribe Edith's life for her to help hold onto the moments she's terrified of losing, a tentative alliance forms. As Maggie helps Edith resolve the aftermath of a long-held secret--and confronts both the roots and repercussions of one of her own--each woman embarks on a path to forgiveness, acceptance, and a life-changing friendship".
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Ōpūnake LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction FISH (Browse shelf) Available i2161252
Fiction Stratford
Fiction
Fiction FIS (Browse shelf) Available (Available) A00784916
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat--she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.</p> <p>For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping, and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance. A house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: The deceased's eighty-two-year old mother Edith.</p> <p>Edith has Alzheimer's--or so the doctors tell her--but she remembers exactly how her daughter Liza could light up a room, or bring dark clouds in her wake. And now Liza's gone, by her own hand, and Edith has been left--like a chaise or strand of pearls--to a poorly dressed young woman with a toddler in tow.</p> <p>Maggie and Edith are both certain this arrangement will be an utter disaster. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she's held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.</p>

"From the author of Driving Lessons, Saving Ruth, and Balancing Acts comes a poignant breakout novel about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat--she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it. Maggie Sheets is just trying to get by. A single mother, she works as a house cleaner and dreams of the days when her financial woes will be over. When her former employer, Liza, a renowned author Maggie once considered a friend, takes her own life, Maggie learns that she has been included in the will and now owns a beautiful home in Sag Harbor. But there's a catch: Maggie's also inherited Liza's eighty-two year old mother. Edith has always prided herself on her independence, but a recent Alzheimer's diagnosis has her wary about the future. She's left on her own to pick up the pieces of her daughter's death until Maggie, with her toddler in tow, arrives at her house, guarded but determined to make their unlikely situation work. Edith is angry and uninterested, until she suffers a fall and must rely on Maggie. Together they begin to heal the hurt left in Liza's wake, and when Maggie offers to transcribe Edith's life for her to help hold onto the moments she's terrified of losing, a tentative alliance forms. As Maggie helps Edith resolve the aftermath of a long-held secret--and confronts both the roots and repercussions of one of her own--each woman embarks on a path to forgiveness, acceptance, and a life-changing friendship".

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Odder things are likely to happen, but inheriting a house in Sag Harbor, NY, is probably close to the top of the list, at least to house cleaner Maggie Sheets. She knew author Liza Brennan, but the two hadn't been in touch for years, and now Liza is dead, having committed suicide. The gift comes with strings-or, rather, one big string: -Liza's 82-year-old mother, Edith, recently diagnosed with Alzheimer's, lives there, too. A single mom with a toddler daughter, Maggie wouldn't have to work anymore, though housecleaning is how she met her benefactor in the first place. Yet Liza's death hangs over the residence, and the past doesn't offer much solace-or many answers. This quirky tale from Fishman (Driving Lessons) drops readers into the middle of a most unconventional situation and lets them flounder along with the characters, who are by turns outspoken, impatient, grumpy, and thoroughly at a loss. Maggie and Edith discover a shared bond and decide, perhaps grudgingly, that it's never too late to fix one's mistakes. VERDICT Recommended for fans of domestic fiction with a twist.-Bette-Lee Fox, Library Journal © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us