Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The art of keeping secrets / Rachael Johns.

By: Johns, Rachael [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookDescription: 443 pages ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9781489210531.Subject(s): Female friendships -- Fiction | Single mothers -- Fiction | Secrecy -- Fiction | Family secrets -- FictionGenre/Form: Australian fiction -- 21st century.DDC classification: A823.4 Summary: "Little secrets grow up to be big lies… They’ve been best friends since their sons started high school together, and Felicity, Emma and Neve share everything … or so they thought. But Flick’s seemingly perfect marriage hides a shocking secret which, with one word, threatens to destroy her and her family’s happiness. Emma is in denial about a potential custody battle, her financial constraints, the exhaustion she can’t seem to shake off and the inappropriate feelings she has for her boss. And single mum Neve is harbouring a secret of her own; a secret that might forever damage her close-knit relationship with her son. When the tight hold they have each kept on their secrets for years begins to slip, they must face the truth. Even if that truth has the power to hurt the ones they love, and each other. Perhaps some secrets weren’t made to be kept."--Back cover.
List(s) this item appears in: Bee's Australian female authors
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Eltham LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction JOHN (Browse shelf) Available i2159425
Fiction Pātea LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction JOHN (Browse shelf) Available i2159424
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> Little secrets grow up to be big lies... </p> <p>They've been best friends since their sons started high school together, and Felicity, Emma and Neve share everything ... or so they thought.</p> <p>But Flick's seemingly perfect marriage hides a shocking secret which, with one word, threatens to destroy her and her family's happiness. Emma is in denial about a potential custody battle, her financial constraints, the exhaustion she can't seem to shake off and the inappropriate feelings she has for her boss. And single mum Neve is harbouring a secret of her own; a secret that might forever damage her close-knit relationship with her son.</p> <p>When the tight hold they have each kept on their secrets for years begins to slip, they must face the truth. Even if that truth has the power to hurt the ones they love, and each other.</p> <p>Perhaps some secrets weren't made to be kept.<br></p>

"Little secrets grow up to be big lies… They’ve been best friends since their sons started high school together, and Felicity, Emma and Neve share everything … or so they thought. But Flick’s seemingly perfect marriage hides a shocking secret which, with one word, threatens to destroy her and her family’s happiness. Emma is in denial about a potential custody battle, her financial constraints, the exhaustion she can’t seem to shake off and the inappropriate feelings she has for her boss. And single mum Neve is harbouring a secret of her own; a secret that might forever damage her close-knit relationship with her son. When the tight hold they have each kept on their secrets for years begins to slip, they must face the truth. Even if that truth has the power to hurt the ones they love, and each other. Perhaps some secrets weren’t made to be kept."--Back cover.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Felicity, Neve, and Emma have been friends since their kids started at the same private school. They were the "misfit moms," with Felicity working as a taxidermist, Neve as a makeup artist, and Emma as a travel agent. They told one another everything, or so they thought. When Neve books a trip to New York City with an ulterior motive, -Felicity and Emma come along to shop, sightsee, and more. But soon, Neve confesses her motive for the trip, Felicity reveals the cracks in her marriage, and Emma discovers the mystery behind her chronic headaches. Johns (Jilted; The Patterson Girls) returns with a novel that readers will want to devour in one sitting. She crafts a slow burn of unfolding mysteries in alternating chapters among the three friends. Neve's past comes back to haunt her; Felicity's future cracks owing to decisions beyond her control; and Emma's present and future collide as she receives devastating health news and grapples with inappropriate feelings for her boss. The women learn to live, and to forgive, doing whatever it takes to stay united as friends. VERDICT This is an excellent character-driven novel, perfect for fans of Elizabeth LaBan and Melissa DePino's Pretty Little World and Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies.-Erin Holt, Williamson Cty. P.L., -Franklin, TN © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us