Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The forbidden garden / Ellen Herrick.

By: Herrick, Ellen [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, c2017Edition: 1st ed.Description: 359, 24 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9780062659620; 0062659626; 9780062499950; 0062499955.Subject(s): Gardens, English -- Fiction | Country homes -- England -- Fiction | Nurseries (Horticulture) -- Fiction | Sisters -- Fiction | Single women -- Fiction | New England -- FictionSummary: An American nursery owner with a rare gift with plants jumps at the chance to help revive a run-down, Shakespearean garden on a country estate in England and becomes intrigued with the house's haunting history and the owners brother-in-law.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Ōpūnake LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction HERR (Browse shelf) Available i2165891
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>"Captivating [...] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love." --Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal</p> <p>Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life.</p> <p>Every garden is a story, waiting to be told...</p> <p>At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.</p> <p>Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried--and failed--to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house's history--especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls--and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets...</p> <p> </p>

"P.S. insights, interviews & more ..."--Cover.

Includes reading group discussion questions.

An American nursery owner with a rare gift with plants jumps at the chance to help revive a run-down, Shakespearean garden on a country estate in England and becomes intrigued with the house's haunting history and the owners brother-in-law.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Herrick follows up The Sparrow Sisters with another lush gardening tale. This isn't necessarily a sequel, but Sorrel Sparrow moves on from that previous novel in this new work. The Kirkland Hall estate in England is a vast property (a mini Downton Abbey) with one black mark upon its grounds. The Shakespeare garden is cursed, and any family member who tries to improve its bleak state is harmed in some way. The lord of the estate, Graham Kirkland, hears of Sorrel's magic-touch gardening skills and lures her from her New England home to restore the garden. Since she is no relation to the family, he assumes she will not be affected by the curse. But -Graham's brother-in-law, the broody Andrew, is thrown into the mix. He's at a turning point in his life and is staying at Kirkland Hall to evaluate his future options. As Sorrel works wonders in the garden, the tender bud of a romance begins. As the curse is researched, secrets of the family's past emerge. VERDICT In the spirit of the film Practical Magic, based on the novel by Alice Hoffman, mixed with a mesmerizing gardening book, this enchanted, romantic story will be savored by even amateur horticulturists.-Beth Gibbs, -Davidson, NC © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us