The lightkeeper's daughter / Jean E. Pendziwol.

Nā: Pendziwol, Jean [author.].
Momo rauemi: materialTypeLabelPukapukaWhakaahuatanga: 310 pages ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9781474605014 ; 9781474605007 .Ngā marau: Family secrets -- Fiction | People with visual disabilities -- Fiction | Diaries -- Fiction | Blindness -- Fiction | Juvenile delinquents -- Fiction | Superior, Lake -- FictionDDC classification: C813.6 Summary: Elizabeth's eyes have failed. She can no longer read the books she loves or see the paintings that move her, but her mind remains sharp and music fills the vacancy left by her blindness. When her father's journals are discovered on a shipwrecked boat, she enlists the help of a delinquent teen, Morgan, to read to her. As an unlikely friendship grows between them, Elizabeth is carried back to her childhood home - the lighthouse on Porphyry Island, Lake Superior - and to the memory of her enigmatic twin sister Emily. But for Elizabeth, the faded pages of her father's journals reveal more secrets than she anticipates.
Ngā tūtohu mai i tēnei whare pukapuka: Kāore he tūtohu i tēnei whare pukapuka mō tēnei taitara. Takiuru ki te tāpiri tūtohu.
    whakatauranga toharite: 0.0 (0 pōti)
Momo tuemi Tauwāhi onāianei Kohinga Tau karanga Tūnga Rā oti Ngā puringa tuemi
Fiction Hāwera LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction PEND (Tirotirohia te whatanga) Wātea
Fiction Waverley LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction PEND (Tirotirohia te whatanga) Wātea
Total holds: 0

"When you live on an island, nothing is secret" -- cover.

Elizabeth's eyes have failed. She can no longer read the books she loves or see the paintings that move her, but her mind remains sharp and music fills the vacancy left by her blindness. When her father's journals are discovered on a shipwrecked boat, she enlists the help of a delinquent teen, Morgan, to read to her. As an unlikely friendship grows between them, Elizabeth is carried back to her childhood home - the lighthouse on Porphyry Island, Lake Superior - and to the memory of her enigmatic twin sister Emily. But for Elizabeth, the faded pages of her father's journals reveal more secrets than she anticipates.

Ngā arotake i whakaratohia e Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Children's author Pendziwol's adult debut is about two women: elderly Elizabeth, who has lost her eyesight and yearns to know more about her family's past, and teenage orphan Morgan, who is performing community service at Elizabeth's assisted-living facility and gets roped into helping -Elizabeth. When Elizabeth's late father's journals are discovered after an accident, Morgan reads them aloud to her. The 70-year-old tales of his time as the local lighthouse keeper on an island on Lake Superior unravel the clouded mysteries in the family. Both women will learn that their histories have always been entwined in ways neither could have realized. This atmospheric novel tells an intricate story about familial love and deception. While the story at the novel's core may lean toward the melodramatic, readers will be drawn in by the intergenerational relationship between Elizabeth and Morgan as they discover their pasts in each other. VERDICT Fans of Heather Young and Jojo Moyes might want to look into Jean Pendziwol this summer. [See Prepub Alert, 2/16/17.]-Mara -Dabrishus, Ursuline Coll. Lib., Pepper Pike, OH © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Tākupu nā Lynne
15/10/2017

this is a very good first adult novel and i hope to see more of this author. an excellent storyline which grips you straight away and holds you until the end . Lynne

Takiuru ki tō pūkete hei tare tākupu.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us