Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Friends forever / Lyn Andrews.

By: Andrews, Lyn, 1943- [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: London : Headline, 2005Description: 280 p. ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9781472253491; 0755308395; 0755308409 .Subject(s): Irish -- England -- Liverpool -- Fiction | Female friendship -- Fiction | Liverpool (England) -- Social life and customs -- FictionSummary: Best friends Bernie and Molly are just seventeen when they set off from Ireland in 1928, heading for Liverpool. They quickly find jobs and rooms; soon both women are in love with local men. Tragically, though, Bernie is widowed when she's still barely an adult, while Molly has chosen a bad 'un and faces the deepest shame when he deserts her. But this bad start only reinforces the bond between the women, and gives them the strength to build a brighter future.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Hāwera LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction ANDR (Browse shelf) Available i2172770
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> Two young women find the bond of lifelong friendship gives them the strength to hold on to their dreams, in the hardship of 1920s Liverpool. <br> <br> In Friends Forever , Lyn Andrews weaves an unforgettable saga of friendship overcoming life's hardships. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Joan Jonker. </p> <p>In 1928 Bernie O'Sullivan and Molly Keegan catch their first glimpse of the bustling city they're about to call home. Both seventeen, and best friends since childhood, the girls have left Ireland behind to seek an exciting new life in Liverpool.</p> <p>They are dismayed to discover that the relatives they are to stay with have barely two pennies to rub together; the promised grand house is a run-down building in one of Liverpool's worst slum areas. Desperate to escape, Bernie secures a position as a domestic servant, while Molly is taken on as a shop assistant. Soon they have settled and find themselves in love with local men. For both, though, love holds surprises and the danger of ruin in an unforgiving world . . .</p>

Best friends Bernie and Molly are just seventeen when they set off from Ireland in 1928, heading for Liverpool. They quickly find jobs and rooms; soon both women are in love with local men. Tragically, though, Bernie is widowed when she's still barely an adult, while Molly has chosen a bad 'un and faces the deepest shame when he deserts her. But this bad start only reinforces the bond between the women, and gives them the strength to build a brighter future.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us