Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Jane Seymour : the haunted queen / Alison Weir.

By: Weir, Alison, 1951- [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Weir, Alison, Six Tudor queens: book 3.Description: 531 pages : genealogical tables ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9781472227683; 9781472227676.Subject(s): Jane Seymour, Queen, consort of Henry VIII, King of England, 1509?-1537 -- Fiction | Queens -- Great Britain -- Fiction | Great Britain -- Kings and rulers -- Fiction | Great Britain -- History -- Henry VIII, 1509-1547 -- FictionGenre/Form: Historical fiction. | Biographical fiction.DDC classification: 823.92 Summary: Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane is dressing for her wedding to the King. She has witnessed at first hand how courtly play can quickly turn to danger and knows she must bear a son... or face ruin. This new queen must therefore step out from the shadows cast by Katherine and Anne. In doing so, can she expose a gentler side to the brutal King? Jane was driven by the strength of her faith and a belief that she might do some good in a wicked world.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Hāwera LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction WEIR (Browse shelf) Available i2177974
Fiction Pātea LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction WEIR (Browse shelf) Available i2177973
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

JANE SEYMOUR: THE HAUNTED QUEEN by historian Alison Weir, author of the Sunday Times bestsellers KATHERINE OF ARAGON: THE TRUE QUEEN and ANNE BOLEYN: A KING'S OBSESSION, is the third enthralling novel in the SIX TUDOR QUEENS series. A fascinating look at Henry VIII's third wife. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick. THE WOMAN HAUNTED BY THE FACE OF HER PREDECESSOR. Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane is dressing for her wedding to the King. She has witnessed at first hand how courtly play can quickly turn to danger and knows she must bear a son . . . or face ruin. This new queen must therefore step out from the shadows cast by Katherine and Anne - in doing so, can she expose a gentler side to the brutal King?

Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane is dressing for her wedding to the King. She has witnessed at first hand how courtly play can quickly turn to danger and knows she must bear a son... or face ruin. This new queen must therefore step out from the shadows cast by Katherine and Anne. In doing so, can she expose a gentler side to the brutal King? Jane was driven by the strength of her faith and a belief that she might do some good in a wicked world.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Often overshadowed by her infamous predecessor, Anne Boleyn, Jane Seymour is often remembered as Henry VIII's meek third wife who died after finally giving him a son. Here, historian and novelist Weir (The Life of Elizabeth I) paints a fuller picture of Jane's life that attempts to answer lasting questions about her desires and choices, and the role she played in Anne's fatal fall from grace. Weir resists casting Jane as a mere pawn of her ambitious family, instead showing how her deep religious faith and time spent serving Katherine of Aragon as a young woman may have helped her justify her romance with Henry as an irresistible opportunity to play a part in her country's destiny and right past wrongs. As with the earlier novels in the "Six Tudor Queens" series, about Katherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn, Weir focuses tightly on the sole perspective of her protagonist, thereby finding enough relatively fresh territory to keep even die-hard Tudor buffs interested. A fascinating afterword sheds light on Weir's departures from the confirmed historical record and on the additional research she did for this novel, including an investigation of how exactly Jane died. VERDICT Highly recommended for fans of the period. [See Prepub Alert, 11/26/17.]-Mara Bandy Fass, Champaign P.L., IL © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us