Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The house on Foster Hill / Jaime Jo Wright.

By: Wright, Jaime Jo [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Minneapolis, Minnesota : Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group, [2017]Copyright date: �2017Description: 364 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780764230288; 076423028X; 9780764231209; 0764231200.Subject(s): Widows -- Fiction | Historic buildings -- Fiction | Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction | Human trafficking victims -- Fiction | Women -- Crimes against -- Fiction | Wisconsin -- FictionGenre/Form: Suspense fiction. | Thrillers (Fiction).DDC classification: 813/.6 Summary: "Kaine purchases an old house sight unseen in her grandfather's Wisconsin hometown. But one look at the eerie, abandoned house immediately leaves her questioning her rash decision. And when the house's dark history comes back with a vengeance, Kaine is forced to face the terrifying realization she has nowhere left to hide. A century earlier, the house on Foster Hill holds nothing but painful memories for Ivy Thorpe. When an unidentified woman is found dead on the property, Ivy is compelled to discover her identity. Ivy's search leads her into dangerous waters and, even as she works together with a man from her past, can she unravel the mystery before any other lives--including her own--are lost?"--Google Books.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Suspense Hāwera LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction WRIG (Browse shelf) Available i2183584
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Outstanding Debut Novel from an Author to Watch<br> <br>Kaine Prescott is no stranger to death. When her husband died two years ago, her pleas for further investigation into his suspicious death fell on deaf ears. In desperate need of a fresh start, Kaine purchases an old house sight unseen in her grandfather's Wisconsin hometown. But one look at the eerie, abandoned house immediately leaves her questioning her rash decision. And when the house's dark history comes back with a vengeance, Kaine is forced to face the terrifying realization she has nowhere left to hide. <p>A century earlier, the house on Foster Hill holds nothing but painful memories for Ivy Thorpe. When an unidentified woman is found dead on the property, Ivy is compelled to discover her identity. Ivy's search leads her into dangerous waters and, even as she works together with a man from her past, can she unravel the mystery before any other lives--including her own--are lost?

"Kaine purchases an old house sight unseen in her grandfather's Wisconsin hometown. But one look at the eerie, abandoned house immediately leaves her questioning her rash decision. And when the house's dark history comes back with a vengeance, Kaine is forced to face the terrifying realization she has nowhere left to hide. A century earlier, the house on Foster Hill holds nothing but painful memories for Ivy Thorpe. When an unidentified woman is found dead on the property, Ivy is compelled to discover her identity. Ivy's search leads her into dangerous waters and, even as she works together with a man from her past, can she unravel the mystery before any other lives--including her own--are lost?"--Google Books.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

DEBUT Widow Kaine Prescott's snap decision to buy an old, abandoned house in her grandfather's Wisconson hometown quickly turns into a nightmare. Malevolence haunts its hallways, and Kaine learns that Foster Hill House has a tainted past, including a murder at the turn of the 20th century. In 1906, Ivy Thorpe discovers the body of a recently pregnant girl stuffed into the base of a tree. Obsessed with finding both the missing baby and the murderer, Ivy puts herself directly in the crosshairs of the killer. Headed by two strong female protagonists, Wright's debut is a lushly detailed time-slip novel that transitions seamlessly between past and present, leading to the revelation of some surprising family secrets that someone would kill to protect. VERDICT Readers who enjoy Colleen Coble and Dani Pettrey will be intrigued by this suspenseful mystery. © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us