Normal view MARC view ISBD view

A Liverpool secret / Geraldine O'Neill.

By: O'Neill, Geraldine [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: London : Orion Books, 2018Description: 374 pages ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9781409166726.Subject(s): Orphans -- Fiction | Family secrets -- Fiction | Nurses -- Fiction | Female friendship -- Fiction | Nineteen thirties -- Fiction | Nineteen fifties -- Fiction | Liverpool (England) -- Social life and customs -- 20th century -- Fiction | Dublin (Ireland) -- Social life and customs -- 20th century -- FictionGenre/Form: Domestic fiction. | Historical fiction.DDC classification: 823.92 Action note: Historical.Summary: "Can a chance meeting lead to fresh starts for Lillian and Blaise, or will hidden secrets threaten their new beginnings? Liverpool, 1932. Fourteen-year-old Lillian Taylor has spent her childhood in a loveless orphanage after the death of her mother. When a well-dressed young woman claiming to be her aunt arrives and whisks her away to her large townhouse, Lillian hopes it signals a change in her fortunes. However there's more to Aunt Joan than meets the eye and when Joan discovers Lillian's budding romance with one of her co-workers she swiftly threatens his family. Events take a tragic turn when Joan becomes ill and reveals the secrets she's been keeping that will change Lillian's life forever. Ireland, 1954. Best friends Blaise and Clodagh are packing their bags as they prepare for their new life training as nurses in England. Through a chance encounter, Blaise meets Lillian Taylor - a middle-aged woman struggling to look after her seasick grandson. After struggling with her duties at St Thomas's Hospital and feeling down on her luck, Blaise decides to look Lillian up. Starting over in Liverpool, she hopes that being a private nurse for Lillian's grandson will signal the fresh start she's been hoping for. But when a mysterious man appears one day, Blaise realises long-hidden skeletons are about to finally come out of the cupboard and truths revealed after all these years."--Provided by publisher.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Hāwera LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction ONEI (Browse shelf) Checked out 01/05/2019 i2186000
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> Liverpool, 1932: Can a chance meeting lead to a fresh start? </p> <p>Lillian Taylor dreams of a world beyond the locked gates of the convent orphanage where she grew up. For ten years she has learned to survive without love, facing the cruel whims and hard faith of the Mother Superior.</p> <p>But the arrival of a glamorous visitor changes everything. Claiming to be her aunt, Anna Ainsley offers Lilian a home in one of Liverpool's smartest streets, and a future the lonely teenager never could have imagined. To grasp it, Lilian must open her heart, and learn the rules of a world she's been taught to believe is full of sin and danger.</p> <p>Sophisticated, wealthy and full of ideas about what a young woman can achieve, Anna turns Lilian's world upside down. In return, Lilian will show Anna that birth and wealth can't buy a good heart. But can she seize her chance of happiness without facing the secrets of her past?</p> <p> A gripping and heartwarming family saga that is perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Katie Flynn and Rosie Goodwin. </p>

"Can a chance meeting lead to fresh starts for Lillian and Blaise, or will hidden secrets threaten their new beginnings? Liverpool, 1932. Fourteen-year-old Lillian Taylor has spent her childhood in a loveless orphanage after the death of her mother. When a well-dressed young woman claiming to be her aunt arrives and whisks her away to her large townhouse, Lillian hopes it signals a change in her fortunes. However there's more to Aunt Joan than meets the eye and when Joan discovers Lillian's budding romance with one of her co-workers she swiftly threatens his family. Events take a tragic turn when Joan becomes ill and reveals the secrets she's been keeping that will change Lillian's life forever. Ireland, 1954. Best friends Blaise and Clodagh are packing their bags as they prepare for their new life training as nurses in England. Through a chance encounter, Blaise meets Lillian Taylor - a middle-aged woman struggling to look after her seasick grandson. After struggling with her duties at St Thomas's Hospital and feeling down on her luck, Blaise decides to look Lillian up. Starting over in Liverpool, she hopes that being a private nurse for Lillian's grandson will signal the fresh start she's been hoping for. But when a mysterious man appears one day, Blaise realises long-hidden skeletons are about to finally come out of the cupboard and truths revealed after all these years."--Provided by publisher.

Historical.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us