Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The sisters Hemingway / Annie England Noblin.

By: Noblin, Annie England [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Noblin, Annie England, Cold River: book 2.Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2019]Copyright date: ©2019Edition: First edition.Description: 353, 11 pages ; 21 cm.ISBN: 9780062674517; 006267451X.Subject(s): Sisters -- Fiction | Family secrets -- FictionGenre/Form: Domestic fiction.DDC classification: 813/.6 Summary: The Hemingway Sisters of Cold River, Missouri are local legends. Raised by a mother obsessed with Ernest Hemingway, they were named after the author's four wives--Hadley, Pfeiffer, Martha, and Mary. The sisters couldn't be more different--or more alike. Now they're back in town, reunited to repair their fractured relationships. Hadley is the poised, polished wife of a senator. Pfeiffer is a successful New York book editor. Martha has skyrocketed to Nashville stardom. They each have a secret--a marriage on the rocks, a job lost, a stint in rehab...and they haven't been together in years. Together, they must stay in their childhood home, faced with a puzzle that may affect all their futures. As they learn the truth of what happened to their mother--and their youngest sister, Mary--they rekindle the bonds they had as children, bonds that have long seemed broken. With the help of neighbors, friends, love interests old and new--and one endearing and determined Basset Hound--the Sisters Hemingway learn that the happiness that has appeared so elusive may be right here at home, waiting to be claimed.--
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Processing
Fiction
Fiction NOBL (Browse shelf) Available I2188389
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>For fans of Susan Mallery, Kristan Higgins, or Susan Wiggs, this is a novel for anyone who loves stories about sisters, dogs, and family secrets. </p> <p> The Sisters Hemingway: they couldn't be more different...or more alike.</p> <p>The Hemingway Sisters of Cold River, Missouri are local legends. Raised by a mother obsessed with Ernest Hemingway, they were named after the author's four wives--Hadley, Pfeiffer, Martha, and Mary. The sisters couldn't be more different--or more alike. Now they're back in town, reunited to repair their fractured relationships.</p> <p>Hadley is the poised, polished wife of a senator.</p> <p>Pfeiffer is a successful New York book editor.</p> <p>Martha has skyrocketed to Nashville stardom.</p> <p>They each have a secret--a marriage on the rocks, a job lost, a stint in rehab...and they haven't been together in years.</p> <p>Together, they must stay in their childhood home, faced with a puzzle that may affect all their futures. As they learn the truth of what happened to their mother--and their youngest sister, Mary--they rekindle the bonds they had as children, bonds that have long seemed broken. With the help of neighbors, friends, love interests old and new--and one endearing and determined Basset Hound--the Sisters Hemingway learn that the happiness that has appeared so elusive may be right here at home, waiting to be claimed.</p>

"P.S. insights, interviews & more..."--Cover.

The Hemingway Sisters of Cold River, Missouri are local legends. Raised by a mother obsessed with Ernest Hemingway, they were named after the author's four wives--Hadley, Pfeiffer, Martha, and Mary. The sisters couldn't be more different--or more alike. Now they're back in town, reunited to repair their fractured relationships. Hadley is the poised, polished wife of a senator. Pfeiffer is a successful New York book editor. Martha has skyrocketed to Nashville stardom. They each have a secret--a marriage on the rocks, a job lost, a stint in rehab...and they haven't been together in years. Together, they must stay in their childhood home, faced with a puzzle that may affect all their futures. As they learn the truth of what happened to their mother--and their youngest sister, Mary--they rekindle the bonds they had as children, bonds that have long seemed broken. With the help of neighbors, friends, love interests old and new--and one endearing and determined Basset Hound--the Sisters Hemingway learn that the happiness that has appeared so elusive may be right here at home, waiting to be claimed.--

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Noblin's fourth novel, second in the "Cold River" series (after Just Fine with Caroline), set in Cold River, MO, carries over some of the characters from the first book and adds a new family. Three sisters-Hadley, Pfeiffer, and Martha Hemingway-return to Cold River when the great-aunt who raised them has died. Hadley is a senator's wife, Pfeiffer a New York-based book editor, and Martha a Nashville star, but they're all keeping secrets that are slowly revealed. This forced reunion in their old home, and the discovery of some family skeletons, causes them to reconnect and find the truth of their past, including what really happened to their mother and younger sister years before. When Pfeiffer discovers their great-aunt's journal, they begin to put all the pieces together. VERDICT Combining sibling rivalry, romantic story lines for each sister, a strong cast of supporting characters, and a realistic, colorful Ozarks setting, this well-paced story will appeal to those who enjoy family dramas. Its warm, engaging tone and happy ending for all will appeal to readers of Susan Wiggs or Mary Alice Monroe.-Melanie Kindrachuk, Stratford P.L., Ont. © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us