Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The empty hearth / Kitty Neale.

By: Neale, Kitty [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: London : Orion, 2018Copyright date: ©2018Edition: Paperback edition.Description: 342 pages ; 20 cm.ISBN: 9781409178774; 1409178773.Subject(s): Dysfunctional families -- Fiction | Teenage girls -- Fiction | Battersea (London, England) -- Social life and customs -- FictionGenre/Form: Domestic fiction. | Bildungsromans.DDC classification: 823.92 Summary: Millie Pratchett's life is not an easy one. Her dad, coalman Alfie, is a bully, and his vicious temper dominates their small terraced house in Battersea. His teenage children, handsome John and ugly-duckling Millie, have learnt to dodge his moods but Millie lives in fear for her mother, Eileen. When Alfie's tyranny forces Eileen into an impossible position, a crisis erupts. The Pratchetts' old life collapses around them and a new, darker future looms. But people are not always what they seem; could Millie turn out to be far stronger and more resilient than anyone could have imagined?
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Pātea LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction NEAL (Browse shelf) Checked out 14/05/2019 i2186494
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> This family saga, packed with dark secrets, from Sunday Times bestseller Kitty Neale, will tug at the heartstrings. </p> <p>Millie Pratchett's life is not an easy one.</p> <p>Her dad, coalman Alfie, is a bully, and his vicious temper dominates their small terraced house in Battersea. His teenage children, handsome John and ugly-duckling Millie, have learnt to dodge his moods but Millie lives in fear for her mother, Eileen.</p> <p>When Alfie's tyranny forces Eileen into an impossible position, a crisis erupts. The Pratchetts' old life collapses around them and a new, darker future looms. But people are not always what they seem; could Millie turn out to be far stronger and more resilient than anyone could have imagined ?</p> <p> Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn, this is an emotional family saga from the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Mother's Sacrifice and A Family Scandal . </p>

Millie Pratchett's life is not an easy one. Her dad, coalman Alfie, is a bully, and his vicious temper dominates their small terraced house in Battersea. His teenage children, handsome John and ugly-duckling Millie, have learnt to dodge his moods but Millie lives in fear for her mother, Eileen. When Alfie's tyranny forces Eileen into an impossible position, a crisis erupts. The Pratchetts' old life collapses around them and a new, darker future looms. But people are not always what they seem; could Millie turn out to be far stronger and more resilient than anyone could have imagined?

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us