Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The light over London / Julia Kelly.

By: Kelly, Julia, 1986- [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: London : Orion Books, 2019Description: 293 pages ; 25 cm.ISBN: 9781409189367 ; 1409189368 .Subject(s): World War, 1939-1945 -- Social aspects -- England -- London -- Fiction | Antique dealers -- Fiction | World War, 1939-1945 -- England -- London -- Fiction | London (England) -- History -- 20th century -- FictionSummary: A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country. 2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever. 1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London. Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Ōpūnake LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction KELL (Browse shelf) Available i2187651
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country </p> <p> 2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever...</p> <p> 1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London.</p> <p>Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance...</p> <p> Discover the story of the remarkable World War Two gunner girls in this entrancing and heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly's The Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale . </p> <p> Praise for The Light Over London </p> <p> ' a heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning.' Washington Post</p> <p>'Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel... A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls.' Kirkus Review</p> <p>'Kelly weaves an intricate, tender, and convincing tale of war and romance with skill and suspense.' Publishers Weekly</p>

A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country. 2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever. 1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London. Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Antiques dealer Cara finds a tin of letters and photographs from World War II that pose a mystery she feels compelled to investigate. Through the contents of the box, readers enter 1940s Great Britain and are privy to Louise Keene's life during that era. Louise is tested when she joins the women's army and is chosen as a new "gunner girl." Dangerous antiaircraft action during the Blitz bombings in London ensues and makes exciting reading. Kelly moves from historical romance (The Allure of Attraction; The Taste of Temptation) into mainstream fiction with this dual time-line story. Romance is not entirely forgotten while both heroines struggle with life's difficulties; however, the development of the main characters takes center stage. Cara gradually learns of Louise's life via the letters, detective work in the military files, and finally through a 94-year-old woman. Surprises involving a selfish mother, dashing RAF pilots, and a grandmother with a secret keep the guesses coming. VERDICT For fans of historical works by and about women.-Mary K. Bird-Guilliams, Chicago © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us