Normal view MARC view ISBD view

A bound heart / Laura Frantz.

By: Frantz, Laura [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Grand Rapids, MI : Revell, [2019]Copyright date: ©2019Description: 406 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780800726645 .Subject(s): Man-woman relationships -- Fiction | Beekeepers -- Fiction | Indentured servants -- Fiction | Virginia -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 -- Fiction | Scotland -- FictionGenre/Form: Christian fiction. | Historical fiction. | Love stories.Summary: "Their stations could not have been more different: a Scottish laird and a simple lass. When a tragedy forces both to colonial Virginia as indentured servants, can a love thwarted by tradition come to life in a new land?" --
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Manaia LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction FRAN (Browse shelf) Checked out 20/09/2019 i2189105
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Though Magnus MacLeish and Lark MacDougall grew up on the same castle grounds, Magnus is now laird of the great house and the Isle of Kerrera. Lark is but the keeper of his bees and the woman he is hoping will provide a tincture that might help his ailing wife conceive and bear him an heir. But when his wife dies suddenly, Magnus and Lark find themselves caught up in a whirlwind of accusations, expelled from their beloved island, and sold as indentured servants across the Atlantic. Yet even when all hope seems dashed against the rocky coastline of the Virginia colony, it may be that in this New World the two of them could make a new beginning--together. <p>Laura Frantz's prose sparkles with authenticity and deep feeling as she digs into her own family history to share this breathless tale of love, exile, and courage in Colonial America.

"Their stations could not have been more different: a Scottish laird and a simple lass. When a tragedy forces both to colonial Virginia as indentured servants, can a love thwarted by tradition come to life in a new land?" --

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Lark MacDougall is in charge of the bees and the medicinal garden at Kerrera Castle, in the remote western isles of Scotland. Young, pretty, and poor, she captures the attention of smuggler Captain Rory MacPherson, but her heart still longs for Magnus MacLeish, her childhood companion who is now laird of the manor. Lark's simple life is turned upside down, however, when a noblewoman takes one of her herbal concoctions with disastrous consequences. Exiled to the Virginia colonies, Lark must find an inner strength to survive both the voyage and her indenture. First focused solely on survival, she soon tries to recover hope and possibly love. With an eye for both the sweeping march of time and mundane historical details, Frantz (the Lacemaker; A Moonbow Night) pulls readers into a mid-18th-century adventure spanning continents. Each character, no matter how minor, is nuanced and believable. VERDICT Fans of Julie Klassen and Jocelyn Green will want to start reading Frantz's epic stories. With this book, she delivers another solid historical, Christian romance, in which the setting and time period shine.-Christine Barth, Scott Cty. Lib. Syst., IA © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us