Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The governess game / Tessa Dare.

By: Dare, Tessa [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Dare, Tessa, Girl meets duke: book 2.Publisher: London, England : Mills & Boon, 2018Copyright date: copyright2018Description: 373 pages ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780008268244 .Subject(s): Governesses -- England -- Fiction | Aristocracy (Social class) -- Fiction | Orphans -- Fiction | Man-woman relationships -- Fiction | Nobility -- Fiction | London (England) -- FictionGenre/Form: Love stories.DDC classification: 813/.6 Summary: "He's been a bad, bad rake--and it takes a governess to teach him a lesson. The accidental governess. After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair of wild orphans into proper young ladies. However, the girls don't need discipline. They need a loving home. Try telling that to their guardian, Chase Reynaud: duke's heir in the streets and devil in the sheets. The ladies of London have tried--and failed--to make him settle down. Somehow, Alexandra must reach his heart . . . without risking her own. The infamous rake. Like any self-respecting libertine, Chase lives by one rule: no attachments. When a stubborn little governess tries to reform him, he decides to give her an education--in pleasure. That should prove he can't be tamed. But Alexandra is more than he bargained for: clever, perceptive, passionate. She refuses to see him as a lost cause. Soon the walls around Chase's heart are crumbling . . . and he's in danger of falling, hard." --
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Romance Hāwera LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction DARE (Browse shelf) Checked out 25/02/2020 i2196618
Total holds: 1

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

'I absolutely adored it. I laughed out loud numerous times... Love her writing.' Jodi Picoult The addictive Regency read from the New York Times bestselling author that's perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer! <p>The accidental governess...</p> <p>After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair of wild orphans into proper young ladies. However, the girls don't need discipline. They need a loving home. Try telling that to their guardian, Chase Reynaud. The ladies of London have tried--and failed--to make him settle down. Somehow, Alexandra must reach his heart . . . without risking her own.</p> <p>The infamous rake...</p> <p>Like any self-respecting libertine, Chase lives by one rule: no attachments. When a stubborn little governess tries to reform him, he decides to prove he can't be tamed. But Alexandra is more than he bargained for: clever, perceptive, passionate. She refuses to see him as a lost cause. Soon the walls around Chase's heart are crumbling . . . and he's in danger of falling, hard.</p>

"He's been a bad, bad rake--and it takes a governess to teach him a lesson. The accidental governess. After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair of wild orphans into proper young ladies. However, the girls don't need discipline. They need a loving home. Try telling that to their guardian, Chase Reynaud: duke's heir in the streets and devil in the sheets. The ladies of London have tried--and failed--to make him settle down. Somehow, Alexandra must reach his heart . . . without risking her own. The infamous rake. Like any self-respecting libertine, Chase lives by one rule: no attachments. When a stubborn little governess tries to reform him, he decides to give her an education--in pleasure. That should prove he can't be tamed. But Alexandra is more than he bargained for: clever, perceptive, passionate. She refuses to see him as a lost cause. Soon the walls around Chase's heart are crumbling . . . and he's in danger of falling, hard." --

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Startled when her visit to Chase Reynaud's home to set his clocks results in being mistaken for the new governess for his two young wards, pragmatic Alexandra Mountbatten sets him straight and leaves. Then an accident sends her into the Thames, with her chronometer and, therefore, her livelihood lost in the process. She returns to the Reynaud home, dripping wet, and accepts the position. A pair of charmingly difficult girls (and one constantly ailing doll) are a challenge, but Alex is not one to give up. She knows the key is patience and love-and a bit of piracy helps. Now if she can just get their wickedly sexy, love-wary guardian to realize he needs to be part of this, too. -VERDICT A ducal heir who dreads failure and a comet-obsessed sea captain's daughter with her own ghosts to slay finally give in to romance in an affecting gem enhanced by laugh-out-loud humor (the doll's various "demises" are priceless), scorching passion, and sparkling repartee. Pure reading joy! Dare (The Duchess Deal) lives in Southern California. © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us