Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Where she went / by Gayle Forman.

By: Forman, Gayle [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Forman, Gayle, If I stay: book 2.Publisher: New York : Dutton, 2011Edition: 1st ed.Description: 264 p. : 22 cm.ISBN: 9780525422945 ; 0525422943 ; 9780857830288 ; 9781849414289.Subject(s): Emotional problems of teenagers -- Teen fiction | Interpersonal relations -- Teen fiction | Rock music -- Teen fiction | Violoncello -- Teen fiction | New York (N.Y.) -- Teen fictionGenre/Form: Young adult fiction.DDC classification: [Fic] Summary: Adam, now a rising rock star, and Mia, a successful cellist, reunite in New York and reconnect after the horrific events that tore them apart when Mia almost died in a car accident three years earlier.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Teen Fiction Hāwera LibraryPlus
Teen
Teen Fiction FORM (Browse shelf) Available I2098415
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

It's been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam's life forever.<br> <br> Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard's rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia's home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future-and each other.<br> <br> Told from Adam's point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay , Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.<br> <br> Watch a Video

Sequel to: If I stay.

Adam, now a rising rock star, and Mia, a successful cellist, reunite in New York and reconnect after the horrific events that tore them apart when Mia almost died in a car accident three years earlier.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Right after Mia decides to keep living, she walks out of Adam's life, seemingly forever. Mia heads to the East Coast to Julliard, leaving Adam to wallow in his misery and score an entire album of angst-ridden songs, which promptly top the charts. Three years later, riding the wave of superstardom, Adam, still suffering from the break, runs into Mia in New York City. They have one night to say all of the things they've left unsaid. Read by Dan Bittner, who efficiently develops the poetry and lyrical qualities of the book without making it fatuous, Adam's story, like Mia's, progresses while fluctuating between past and present, allowing the reader insight and empathy. Though it packs much less of an emotional punch than its prequel, If I Stay, Where She Went creates a tidy "happy ever after." Verdict Fans of the previous novel will be pleased with the sense of conclusion, and the romance, but new readers may feel let down here by the low-key story and lack of emotional build-up. Recommended for fans of Sarah Dessen's That Summer and Nicholas Sparks's The Notebook. [The Dutton Juvenile hc, published in April, was a New York Times best seller; see "35 Going on 13," BookSmack! 6/16/11.-Ed.]-Terry Ann Lawler, Phoenix P.L. (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us