Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The light between oceans / M. L. Stedman.

By: Stedman, M. L.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Charnwood series.Thorndike Press large print core series: Publisher: Leicester : Thorpe, 2013Edition: Large print ed.Description: 456 p. (large print) ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9781444814132 (hbk.); 1444814133; 9781410452573 (hardcover); 1410452573 (hardcover).Subject(s): Married people -- Fiction | Foundlings -- Fiction | Large type books | Australia -- FictionGenre/Form: Large type books. | Domestic fiction.Online resources: Click here to access online Summary: Tom Sherbourne, released from the horrors of the First World War, is now a lighthouse keeper, cocooned on a remote island off Western Australia with his young, bold and loving wife. Izzy is content in everything but her failure to have a child. Years later, after two miscarriages and a stillbirth, a boat washes ashore carrying a dead man - and a crying baby...now the path of the couple's lives hits an unthinkable crossroads. Safe from the real world, Tom and Izzy break the rules and follow their hearts. It is a decision with devastating consequences...
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Large Print Hāwera LibraryPlus
Large Print
Large Print STED (Browse shelf) Available I2120027
Large Print Ōpūnake LibraryPlus
Large Print
Large Print STED (Browse shelf) Available I2120058
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Would you accept a chance for happiness even if it wasn't yours to have? This is a story about a lighthouse keeper and his wife, who live on a lonely island with just seagulls, stars, and buffeting winds for company. It's a story about right and wrong, and how sometimes they look the same.

Tom Sherbourne, released from the horrors of the First World War, is now a lighthouse keeper, cocooned on a remote island off Western Australia with his young, bold and loving wife. Izzy is content in everything but her failure to have a child. Years later, after two miscarriages and a stillbirth, a boat washes ashore carrying a dead man - and a crying baby...now the path of the couple's lives hits an unthinkable crossroads. Safe from the real world, Tom and Izzy break the rules and follow their hearts. It is a decision with devastating consequences...

Adult.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

In Stedman's compelling, heartrending debut novel-infused with the symbol of the lighthouse as guidance and shelter-quiet, thoughtful Tom returns home to Australia after World War I and seeks refuge as a lighthouse keeper. Isabelle, a high-spirited young woman who is ruled by emotion, works her way into Tom's heart and joins him at his remote outpost. Although they yearn for a family, after three years and three lost babies, the light in Izzy's eyes has dimmed. Then, inexplicably, a small boat washes ashore, bearing a dead man and a tiny but healthy infant. Is this the answer to Tom and Izzy's fervent prayers? They must quickly choose whether to keep the baby as their own or to report it to the authorities. Years later, in another, faraway lighthouse, the story circles around to a satisfying conclusion. VERDICT Stedman's engrossing, emotionally driven novel sensitively treats the issue of loss and how we learn to live with its aftermath. Fans of Anita Shreve or Elizabeth Berg will enjoy being swept up in this novel. [See Prepub Alert, 2/20/12.]-Susanne Wells, MLS, Indianapolis (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us