Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The doll : a novel / Taylor Stevens.

By: Stevens, Taylor [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Stevens, Taylor, Vanessa Michael Munroe: book 3.Publisher: New York : Crown Publishers, c2013Edition: 1st ed.Description: 335 p. ; 25 cm.ISBN: 9780307888785; 0307888789.Subject(s): Women private investigators -- Fiction | Kidnapping -- Fiction | Women -- Crimes against -- FictionGenre/Form: Suspense fiction.DDC classification: 813/.6 Summary: Kidnapped by a human trafficking ring that demands that she help transport a high-profile starlet or risk the murder of her best friend, maverick information specialist Vanessa Michael Munroe is plunged into a harrowing underground world under the brutal control of a shadowy overlord.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Suspense Pātea LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction STEV (Browse shelf) Available I2122567
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

"A heroine every bit as provocative as Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander." - The Dallas Morning News <br>  <br>    Haunted by a life of violence and as proficient with languages as she is with knives, Vanessa Michael Munroe, chameleon and hunter, has built her life on a reputation for getting things done--dangerous and often not-quite-legal things. Born to missionary parents in lawless Africa, taken under the tutelage of gunrunners, and tortured by one of the jungle's most brutal men, Munroe was forced to do whatever it took to stay alive.<br>    The ability to survive, fight, adapt, and blend has since taken her across the globe on behalf of corporations, heads of state, and the few private clients who can afford her unique brand of expertise, and these abilities have made her enemies. <br>    On a busy Dallas street, Munroe is kidnapped by an unseen opponent and thrust into an underground world where women and girls are merchandise and a shadowy figure known as The Doll Maker controls her every move. While trusted friends race to unravel where she is and why she was taken, everything pivots on one simple choice: Munroe must use her unique set of skills to deliver a high-profile young woman into the same nightmare that she once endured, or condemn to torture and certain death the one person she loves above all else.<br>    Driven by the violence that has made her what she is, cut off from help, and with attempts to escape predicted and prevented, Munroe will hunt for openings, for solutions, and a way to strike back at a man who holds all the cards. Because only one thing is certain: she cannot save everyone. <br>    In this high-octane thriller for fans of Lee Child, Stieg Larsson, and Robert Ludlum's Bourne trilogy, Vanessa Michael Munroe will have to fight fast, smart and furiously to overcome a dangerous nemesis and deliver her trademark brand of justice.

Kidnapped by a human trafficking ring that demands that she help transport a high-profile starlet or risk the murder of her best friend, maverick information specialist Vanessa Michael Munroe is plunged into a harrowing underground world under the brutal control of a shadowy overlord.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Vanessa Michael Munroe is facing a moral dilemma. Snatched by the shadowy Doll Maker, head of an international sex trafficking organization, she must transport Hollywood starlet Neeva Eckridge, daughter of a Silicon Valley mogul and a U.S. senator, to an important client in order to protect the lives of people she loves, first among them her dear friend Logan. And the "package," who's furiously fighting her captivity, must be delivered unbruised, undrugged, and costumed as a doll. As Munroe sets out on her task, her lover and employer, Miles Bradford, head of high-tech Calypso Security in Dallas, works to find the kidnapped and brutalized Logan and determine who's behind the operation. VERDICT Prolific linguist and exquisitely honed killer Munroe is no less effective here for still suffering from past trauma as recounted in The Informationist and The Innocent. Stevens's third series outing is another brisk, adrenaline-fueled adventure with a trail of bodies and a damaged protagonist who may live to kill another day. For readers of suspense with a dark edge.-Michele Leber, Arlington, VA (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us