Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Naomi's gift : an Amish Christmas story : a novella / Amy Clipston.

By: Clipston, Amy [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Clipston, Amy, Kauffman Amish bakery: Publisher: Grand Rapids, Mich. : Zondervan, c2011Description: 184 p. : geneal. table ; 19 cm.ISBN: 9780310327356.Subject(s): Amish -- Fiction | Widowers -- Fiction | Single women -- FictionGenre/Form: Christian fiction. | Love stories. | Christmas stories.DDC classification: 813/.6 Summary: Take a trip to Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania, where you'll meet the women of the Kauffman Amish Bakery in Lancaster County. As each woman's story unfolds, you will share in her heartaches, trials, joys, dreams ... and secrets. You'll discover how the simplicity of the Amish lifestyle can clash with the 'English' way of life---and the decisions and consequences that follow. Most importantly, you will be encouraged by the hope and faith of these women, and the importance they place on their families. Naomi's Gift re-introduces twenty-four-year-old Naomi King, who has been burned twice by love and has all but given up on marriage and children. As Christmas approaches---a time of family, faith, and hope for many others---Naomi is more certain than ever her life will be spent as an old maid, helping with the family's quilting business and taking care of her eight siblings. Then she meets Caleb, a young widower with a 7-year-old daughter, and her world is once again turned upside-down. Naomi's story of romantic trial and error and youthful insecurities has universal appeal. Author Amy Clipston artfully paints a panorama of simple lives full of complex relationships, and she carefully explores cultural differences and human similarities, with inspirational results. Naomi's Gift includes all the details of Amish life that Clipston's fans enjoy, while delivering the compelling stories and strong characters that continue to draw legions of new readers.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction South LibraryPlus
Fiction
Fiction CLIP (Browse shelf) Available I2123724
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Naomi has begun to believe that she isn't meant to find love, but she might receive more than she has ever hoped for this Christmas.</p> <p>Twenty-four-year-old Naomi King has all but given up on marriage and children. As Christmas approaches, Naomi is certain that her life will be spent as an old maid, helping with the family's quilting business and taking care of her eight siblings. Then she meets Caleb, a young widower with a 7-year-old daughter, and her world is once again turned upside-down.</p>

Take a trip to Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania, where you'll meet the women of the Kauffman Amish Bakery in Lancaster County. As each woman's story unfolds, you will share in her heartaches, trials, joys, dreams ... and secrets. You'll discover how the simplicity of the Amish lifestyle can clash with the 'English' way of life---and the decisions and consequences that follow. Most importantly, you will be encouraged by the hope and faith of these women, and the importance they place on their families. Naomi's Gift re-introduces twenty-four-year-old Naomi King, who has been burned twice by love and has all but given up on marriage and children. As Christmas approaches---a time of family, faith, and hope for many others---Naomi is more certain than ever her life will be spent as an old maid, helping with the family's quilting business and taking care of her eight siblings. Then she meets Caleb, a young widower with a 7-year-old daughter, and her world is once again turned upside-down. Naomi's story of romantic trial and error and youthful insecurities has universal appeal. Author Amy Clipston artfully paints a panorama of simple lives full of complex relationships, and she carefully explores cultural differences and human similarities, with inspirational results. Naomi's Gift includes all the details of Amish life that Clipston's fans enjoy, while delivering the compelling stories and strong characters that continue to draw legions of new readers.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Ever since she practically threw herself at two young bachelors in her Amish community of Bird-in-Hand, PA, 24-year-old Naomi King has sworn off getting married. When a sad young girl shows up at her mother's quilting booth, Naomi aches to help her, even more so when the girl's widowed father appears with that same sad look. Caleb has returned home for the first time in many years and finds himself attracted to the young woman his daughter finds so appealing. But is Naomi willing to try love again? VERDICT This novella is full of warmth and love, just what you want at Christmastime. Fans of Clipston's "Kauffman Amish Bakery" series will enjoy getting reacquainted with favorite characters. Fans of Beverly Lewis and Wanda E. Brunstetter will also find this title delightful. (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

©South Taranaki District Council

Contact us